goodwithdogs - Good With Dogs
badwithdogs - Bad With Dogs
needsanotherdog- Needs Another Dog
shy - Shy
goodwithcats - Good With Cats
badwithcats - Bad With Cats
goodwithkids - Good With Kids
badwithkids - Bad With Kids
likescar - Good In Cars
badinacar - Bad In Cars
willpottyonleash - Will Potty On Leash
willnotpottyonleash - Will Not Potty On Leash
goodinapartment - Good In Apartments
notgoodinapartments - Bad In Apartments
housetrained - Housetrained
workingonhousetraining - Working on Housetraining
needsafence - Needs A Fence
doesnotneedafence - Does Not Need A Fence
fencejumper - Fence Jumper
likestodig - Likes To Dig
couchpotato - Couch Potato
highenergy - High Energy
cratetrained - Crate Trained
specialneeds - Special Needs
Shadow * Featured Popular HousetrainedSpecial Medical NeedsLikes to ride in the carNeeds a fenced yard
Gender: Male Age: 12 years - AARB Status: Available
Sponsored By:
Weezie’s family and Rodger’s family. Gail Downie. Mike Bender: In honor of a great friend of the beagles, Rick Griffith. Cindy Smetanka. Anonymous donation. Elizabeth Cash. Gail Downey: Get well soon Shadow! Thanx Marcy! Susan Purichia: Hope you feel better Shadow! Joan Gerage: Feel better sweet Shadow.

Hi, my name is Shadow! I am a 12-year-old neutered male beagle mix and I weigh 29 lbs. My mommy passed away and ended up alone in a shelter. I was very sad until the nice folks at Midwest BREW got me out and things started looking up.

I’ve been with my foster family for over 4 months and am housetrained and know how to use a doggie door. I have a good appetite, am a hearty eater and LOVE treats. I even know how to sit for a treat! I love my daily walks and can walk up to a mile or more each day. But my very favorite thing to do is play with my tennis ball. If you will throw it, I will chase it… over and over and over again. My foster mommy has played ball with me for over 2 hours at a time and I never tire of it. It’s just so much fun! I’m very active for my age but also like to take naps throughout the day. I adore lying outside and watching the world go by. There are many times my foster mommy can’t find me only to go outside and find me lying under the shade tree or by the back door. I’d really like to have a fenced yard so I can spend time outside.

For the most part I’m very healthy but I do have a chronic case of rhinitis (inflammation of the mucous membranes of the nose) which means I sneeze and have nasal discharge most of the time. Sometimes this also gives me a slight cough. I have seen several specialists and gone through a lot of testing and different medications.  The doctors say I’ll probably have this for the rest of my life but it can be managed and I will be on a maintenance schedule of my medicine to help with that. I am currently on antibiotics, prednisone and Benadryl daily. During this time I have also had pneumonia and the possibility for it to reoccur is greater with the nasal discharge. You’ll have to work closely with your vet to keep my condition under control.  

Other than this chronic condition, I’m very healthy. I’ve had my teeth cleaned and a couple pulled. I also had chest and head X-rays and all is perfect. I’ve had a few lumps removed and all were just fatty tumors (benign). I’ve had blood work and it came back perfect, my lungs are clear, and I have no sign of heart disease. My foster mom can give you details on the procedures I’ve been through. Just recently my foster mom has been taking me to a holistic vet for acupuncture, laser and Chinese herbs. This seems to be helping some too! Consider keeping the holistic treatments going if I become your forever boy!

Although I get along with all the other dogs in my foster home, I’m used to being an only dog and would be happier getting all the attention and ball playing time myself. I don’t care to play with the other dogs and I tolerate them as long as they don’t try to take my ball or butt in while I’m getting some loving. I enjoy car rides and would love to go with you when you go to places that are dog friendly.

My foster mom lets me have the run of the house when she is at work and I am a good boy. She’s not sure how long I can go before I have to potty as grandma comes over and lets me out at lunch. I sleep in a dog bed at night close to foster mom.  The bed is in a crate, but she leaves the door open for me.

Since I’ve been on the prednisone I’ve been drinking more water so need to potty very early in the morning.
So, if you’d like a walking and ball playing buddy that enjoys being petted and loved, I’m your guy! Don’t let a runny nose scare you off, because I know I am worth it!

Please contact Midwest BREW today to learn how to speak to my foster mom.

Love, Shadow

NOTE: Dog may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).