goodwithdogs - Good With Dogs
badwithdogs - Bad With Dogs
needsanotherdog- Needs Another Dog
shy - Shy
goodwithcats - Good With Cats
badwithcats - Bad With Cats
goodwithkids - Good With Kids
badwithkids - Bad With Kids
likescar - Good In Cars
badinacar - Bad In Cars
willpottyonleash - Will Potty On Leash
willnotpottyonleash - Will Not Potty On Leash
goodinapartment - Good In Apartments
notgoodinapartments - Bad In Apartments
housetrained - Housetrained
workingonhousetraining - Working on Housetraining
needsafence - Needs A Fence
doesnotneedafence - Does Not Need A Fence
fencejumper - Fence Jumper
likestodig - Likes To Dig
couchpotato - Couch Potato
highenergy - High Energy
cratetrained - Crate Trained
specialneeds - Special Needs
Girdy * Popular Good with DogsGood with CatsPotties on a leashHousetrainedCrate TrainedLikes to ride in the car
Gender: Female Age: 8 - 10 years - AARB Status: Available
Sponsored By:
Susan Latino: Wanting to help all of you to get better so you will find your forever home. Grace Tock: Good luck Girdy. Given in memory of our sweet Daphne.

Hi my name is Girdy. I am estimated to be between 8-10 years old.   I am a lemon beagle.

I had a rough life before I was found as a stray. It’s unknown how long I was alone. A small rural shelter picked me up with no hair, sick and starved. Bless them, they did the best they could to help me but I also ended up with pneumonia on top of my other issues. At that point, Midwest BREW took me in and I have been loved on while I regain my health.

I have come a long way. I finally have most of my fur back. I am learning how to play with toys, but working on how to share. I can be over protective of them and don’t want anyone to take them. I do play with the other foster dogs. I am not bothered with cats either.

I love to walk, ride in car. I like to roll in the grass on a sunny day. I am housebroken but you will need to be diligent in a routine because I don’t tell you. But if you have a potty pad I will use it faithfully.

I can be crated but I would rather just curl up in my dog bed in a corner or under a table. I like to eat but of course that is a given and if you wait too long I will tell you when it’s time to eat.

I don’t get on furniture without permission. I am just learning how to accept affection and to be held. I allow it a little longer each time my foster mom picks me up. I do like to be petted though.

I would be okay as an only dog or with another mid to older dog. The puppies pester me too much.

I’m okay with kids but my family needs to keep an eye on the young ones in case they try to take away my toys at this point while I'm learning. I would not want to accidentally hurt anyone.

I walk -or should say prance- like a little pony. I sit up, bark and beg at dinner time. I do have a lingering cough from having pneumonia 3 times and allergies so I will most likely be on medication to help it rest of my life. Other than that I am still active and don’t act my age.

If you’re looking for a life time companion and if you’re willing to be patient while I learn to trust again, please have Midwest BREW put you in contact with my foster family. I would love to have a family to call my own.

NOTE: Dogs may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).