goodwithdogs - Good With Dogs
badwithdogs - Bad With Dogs
needsanotherdog- Needs Another Dog
shy - Shy
goodwithcats - Good With Cats
badwithcats - Bad With Cats
goodwithkids - Good With Kids
badwithkids - Bad With Kids
likescar - Good In Cars
badinacar - Bad In Cars
willpottyonleash - Will Potty On Leash
willnotpottyonleash - Will Not Potty On Leash
goodinapartment - Good In Apartments
notgoodinapartments - Bad In Apartments
housetrained - Housetrained
workingonhousetraining - Working on Housetraining
needsafence - Needs A Fence
doesnotneedafence - Does Not Need A Fence
fencejumper - Fence Jumper
likestodig - Likes To Dig
couchpotato - Couch Potato
highenergy - High Energy
cratetrained - Crate Trained
specialneeds - Special Needs
Cody * Popular Good with DogsNeeds Another DogPotties on a leashShyHousetrainedLikes to ride in the carNeeds a fenced yard
Gender: Male Age: 3 - 6 years Status: Adopted
Beagle / Bassett

My name is Cody and I am a beagle/basset mix. I was found by a shelter as a stray along with two female dogs that were deceased. I was scared, alone, underweight, and in urgent need of dental care. They took me to a shelter where I stayed for several weeks and then, I moved into a foster home and he adopted me. I was very happy for a while but then my owner got sick and he had to give me up to the shelter. I was very sad, but then Midwest BREW showed up and they took me into their program.

My previous owner was feeding me a little too much so I have a few pounds to lose. My foster mom is working hard to help me lose the extra weight. She thinks I didn’t have much opportunity to play before so now I’m having a great time learning what toys, friends, and family are. I am having so much fun being a playful puppy and being loved on. I am finally enjoying as an adult all I didn’t have as a puppy. Sometimes I steal shoes, slippers, socks, towels and take them outside. My foster mom says I need to stop doing that but it’s so much fun! I also like playing chase with the other dogs here. I get along great with them and I bark when I get too excited. My dream home would have a doggy sibling that likes to play and a yard to run. I love being outside! In fact being outside is my second favorite thing after being with my humans, either lying next to you or at your feet.

I am housebroken with a doggy door and I am an excellent car rider. I also walk well on a leash. I sleep on a dog bed right next to my humans but I would very much love to sleep with them in the big bed!

I am somewhat timid when I first meet you but I warm up quickly. I’m skittish so I need a little time to make sure you’re okay and then I will come to you slowly.

I am looking for my furever family. I need someone willing to continue helping me with my diet to get me back to a healthy weight so I can live long and happily ever after. It has been an emotional rollercoaster to be displaced several times in such a short time. My new family needs to understand my fear of new people and continue to show me love and security.

If you think you can be my forever true family, please contact Midwest BREW and ask about Cody!


NOTE: Dog may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).