Joe Popular Good with DogsPotties on a leashWorking on HousetrainingCrate TrainedNot good in apartmentsLikes to ride in the carCouch Potato
Gender: Male Age: 13 years - AARB Status: Adopted
Sponsored By:
Jordan A Ellison. Carol Abilock: Donation in loving memory of my mother, Ruth Moyer. Fifty years ago she insisted we get Daisy (our first beagle because they are good family dogs. Anonymous donation.

Hi, Joe here. I am a handsome 36lb boy looking for my forever home. I am a bagel (beagle/basset mix) so I'm a little on the larger size. But that's just more of me to love. Sadly, I lived my first 12 years mostly outdoors so I'm really enjoying life now living inside and sleeping on a soft warm couch or bed. I love everyone I meet. I'm not what you would call super affectionate but I do love ear scratches and belly rubs. I love hanging out with foster mom. I follow her everywhere so she is never out of my sight. I get along with the other dogs here and occasionally will play with them. I'm fairly quiet. The most noise I make is because of those pesky squirrels out back taunting me and if someone dares walk by my house. Just doing my job of protecting everyone. But when I do use my voice, well it's pretty impressive! I have a deep, beautiful bark. So an apartment would probably not be good for me.

I love hanging outside in the yard and enjoying the sunshine. A fenced yard would be ideal for me so I can roam and sniff everything. When I'm not sunning myself outside I do love to snuggle and nap.

I am crate trained and whenever foster mom has to go out I go to my crate and just sleep peacefully till she returns. I really like my crate and go in there throughout the day for some well-deserved alone time.

I am still working on housetraining. I've gotten pretty good at letting foster mom know when I need to go out. I still have an occasional accident if I'm not supervised but with due diligence on everyone's part I'm sure I'll have this licked in no time.

Despite my size I am very gentle. I don't jump on people and I take treats very nicely. I'm quite the gentleman. I do pull a bit on the leash so will need some training in that area. And my age? Pffff. Don't let that fool you. 13 is the new 10. I still have a lot of love to give someone.

Well foster mom says she could just go on and on about me. What can I say? I’m just that darn cute! If you think I may be what you are looking for and want to know more about me, contact Midwest BREW. Foster mom would love to talk to you and tell you more about me.

NOTE: Dog may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).