goodwithdogs - Good With Dogs
badwithdogs - Bad With Dogs
needsanotherdog- Needs Another Dog
shy - Shy
goodwithcats - Good With Cats
badwithcats - Bad With Cats
goodwithkids - Good With Kids
badwithkids - Bad With Kids
likescar - Good In Cars
badinacar - Bad In Cars
willpottyonleash - Will Potty On Leash
willnotpottyonleash - Will Not Potty On Leash
goodinapartment - Good In Apartments
notgoodinapartments - Bad In Apartments
housetrained - Housetrained
workingonhousetraining - Working on Housetraining
needsafence - Needs A Fence
doesnotneedafence - Does Not Need A Fence
fencejumper - Fence Jumper
likestodig - Likes To Dig
couchpotato - Couch Potato
highenergy - High Energy
cratetrained - Crate Trained
specialneeds - Special Needs
Home Our Dogs Adopted Athena Belle *
Athena Belle * Popular Good with DogsNot good with ChildrenWorking on HousetrainingNot good in the carNeeds a fenced yard
Gender: Female Age: 8 years - AARB Status: Adopted

Hello All,

My name is Athena Belle! I’m looking for a furever home that can give me all the attention I have come to know and love!

I’m technically a senior at 8 ½ years old, but you will never know it by how I act.

I love meeting new people and dogs, and will need a family that can handle me on walks. I do okay on a leash, but if I spot a dog across the street or down the block, I cannot contain my excitement and will let the whole neighborhood know I met a new friend! I am also pretty strong now, so my family will need to make sure I have a good harness and leash, because I don’t want to accidentally get separated from them when I just HAVE to meet a new dog or person.

I am about as affectionate as can be too! I love people, and I love jumping on to their lap and following them around everywhere. Need a potty partner in the bathroom? I will be there. Need a snack? I will be there. Need the bed to yourself? Sorry, I can’t help you there… It's my bed now too.

As much as I am a loveable girl, I don’t think I would be good for younger children, because I am a solid 30 pounds, and I can’t contain my excitement so sometimes I jump or lean my weight into a family member. Also, I have never met a cat before, so I don’t know if I like them yet.

I will also need a home that is really safe. I love the outside, because that is where all the other dogs and critters are (I lose my mind when I see squirrels and bunnies!). I like to try dashing out the door as soon as it opens even a crack, and it will be safer for me if I have a few barriers in the way. I will need a home with sturdy and secure doors, and a fence. When I am outside, I am enjoying the smells and sights so much, I sometimes forget why I went outside in the first place, so I will need to be reminded to actually use the bathroom.

All-in-all, I am a loveable girl who is feeling better after a long heartworm treatment, and I am ready to run and play and get all the attention I can, so a home with little to no alone time is best because I do have a pretty good bark/howl when I spend too much time alone.

NOTE: Dogs may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).