goodwithdogs - Good With Dogs
badwithdogs - Bad With Dogs
needsanotherdog- Needs Another Dog
shy - Shy
goodwithcats - Good With Cats
badwithcats - Bad With Cats
goodwithkids - Good With Kids
badwithkids - Bad With Kids
likescar - Good In Cars
badinacar - Bad In Cars
willpottyonleash - Will Potty On Leash
willnotpottyonleash - Will Not Potty On Leash
goodinapartment - Good In Apartments
notgoodinapartments - Bad In Apartments
housetrained - Housetrained
workingonhousetraining - Working on Housetraining
needsafence - Needs A Fence
doesnotneedafence - Does Not Need A Fence
fencejumper - Fence Jumper
likestodig - Likes To Dig
couchpotato - Couch Potato
highenergy - High Energy
cratetrained - Crate Trained
specialneeds - Special Needs
Mia * Popular Good with DogsGood with CatsPotties on a leashHousetrainedLikes to ride in the car
Gender: Female Age: 9 years - AARB Status: Available

Hi my name is Mia and I am 9 yr, 25.5 beagle mix. Let me start by saying that 2022 just wasn't my year. My human dad died, my human mom had to move away and my dog brother and I were split up. I am hopeful things are looking up for me now that I am in rescue. As you can imagine, I needed some time to adjust to my losses but now I’m hoping to find a kind and patient person or family to love and take care of me from now on.

I am a very good looking lady. My foster mom says that I have the most soulful eyes… I love to be petted, and I love belly rubs. I will continue to tap you so you don’t stop.  My foster mom says that –in true beagle fashion- I can tend to be very stubborn when I want to be.

I am housetrained and I will let you know when I need to go outside because I will stare you down, run to door or in circles and at times nudge you with my nose. I love going on walks and prefer to potty during a walk. A home with a fenced yard will be nice but not necessary if you are an avid walker. I also like car rides although sometimes I get a bit nervous and I pant.

At night, I sleep on a couch or dog bed, although I rather sleep with you if you let me. I don’t like being picked up but will gladly jump up on the couch or bed right next to you (I used to sleep with my human) or wherever you want me to go. I have never been crated as I never had to be alone so a family that is home the majority of the time would be preferred.

I am good with other dogs, especially the calm, low key ones. I prefer they are not nervous or high-energy creatures who get in my face. I like my companions to be older and calm like me. Or I could also be the only dog (more attention for me!). I have been around cats without any issues. Older respectful kids that understand that I don’t like being picked up are okay.

I do have to confess this little thing… I am terrified of thunderstorms. My foster mom provides me with a dark place to hide until they’re over and sometimes gives me medication to calm me down.

Overall, I am laid back and calm and don't bark much except when watching out the window at critters going by. If you would like more information about me, please contact your adoption counselor and ask about sweet Mia.

NOTE: Dog may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).