goodwithdogs - Good With Dogs
badwithdogs - Bad With Dogs
needsanotherdog- Needs Another Dog
shy - Shy
goodwithcats - Good With Cats
badwithcats - Bad With Cats
goodwithkids - Good With Kids
badwithkids - Bad With Kids
likescar - Good In Cars
badinacar - Bad In Cars
willpottyonleash - Will Potty On Leash
willnotpottyonleash - Will Not Potty On Leash
goodinapartment - Good In Apartments
notgoodinapartments - Bad In Apartments
housetrained - Housetrained
workingonhousetraining - Working on Housetraining
needsafence - Needs A Fence
doesnotneedafence - Does Not Need A Fence
fencejumper - Fence Jumper
likestodig - Likes To Dig
couchpotato - Couch Potato
highenergy - High Energy
cratetrained - Crate Trained
specialneeds - Special Needs
Posie * Popular Good with ChildrenHousetrainedNot good in apartmentsNeeds a fenced yard
Gender: Female Age: 5 years Status: Adopted

Hi! My name is Posie, and I need your help! I am about five years old and weigh around 30 pounds. I am a real sweetheart according to foster mom, and love people, stuffed animals, chasing squirrels and chipmunks, sleeping under the covers with you, and snuggling with my head on your lap. And snow! I love a good snowball! Oh yeah, and being a Beagle and all, I do love my treats too! Foster mom’s granddaughter, who is 4 years old, comes to visit often, and I just adore her and do so well with her. I am also housetrained; another big plus!

So, why do I need your help? Well, I do have some work to do. Midwest BREW is not sure about my past (I was picked up as a stray), but whatever it was left me with some severe separation anxiety. I do not do well in a crate at all, and fight and chew until I can escape or tear the crate apart. In fact, my teeth were worn down and in terrible shape from trying to escape being crated. They have been fixed up now, but I still can’t stand to be left alone. If I am not crated, I panic, tear things up, and have a horrible time until my people come home. Foster Mom is working hard to help me with this: she is working with a behaviorist, and has found a crate that is escape proof yet still comfortable, for those times when you have to leave me. I don’t like it, but it is escape proof and I can’t hurt myself while in it. This crate will go with me to my new home! Because my anxiety is severe though, I will need a family where someone is home most of the time, or can take me to work with them. I am looking for a home with the time and patience to help me work through this awful anxiety.

I am also a bit of an escape artist, and though I like walks, I can twist, jiggle, shake, and back out of almost any harness. Foster Mom has found one that works for me, and she says long walks and lots of exercise will really help me. I am a strong puller, but I can learn to do better with some practice!

I get along great with the male dog that lives here, but I am not a fan of female dogs. I would be perfectly happy being an only dog; that way I get ALL the attention! And boy, do I love that attention. You are welcome to sit with me for hours and scratch my ears, rub my belly and give me kisses.

To sum it all up, if you need a constant companion, who promises to adore you, I’m the girl for you! If you have some time and patience to work through separation anxiety with me, I’m the girl for you! If you want to laugh every day with my play time including critter chasing, snowball catching, and mad dashes with stuffed toys, I’m the girl for you! If you like the silky softness of petting Beagle ears, I’m the girl for you! I just need the right home, and I’m sure you are out there! Please contact Midwest BREW to find out more about me.

NOTE: Dog may be located in any of our six volunteer states (WI, IL, IN, OH, PA, MI).